Hooray! We’ve made it to 50 ‘likes’ (well 51 actually) on the Facebook page – THANK YOU! As promised in this post, I am now launching a giveaway to express my gratitude to anyone who’s ever read Living Life to the Full.

I recently published a blog post about brokenness, being imperfect, and Jesus’ work of restoring us into the image of our Creator. In this post, I mentioned something that had really helped me in my frailty as a parent – a parenting course run by a wonderful York-based parenting/relationships charity called Family Matters York. The fab FMY are linked to the larger national charity Care for the Family, which according to their website ‘aims to promote strong family life and to help those who face family difficulties’. Care for the Family was launched in 1988 by Rob Parsons (ever heard of the ‘Sixty Minute’ parenting/relationship book series? Rob’s handiwork!) and the charity now runs events and courses across the UK, and creates resources that are used all over the world. Their work is motivated by Christian faith, although their resources and support are available to everybody – of all faiths and none!

What’s all this got to do with the giveaway?!

One of Care for the Family’s regular contributors, Katharine Hill, has recently published a new book for parents of children of primary school age entitled ‘If You Forget Everything Else, Remember This – Parenting in the Primary Years’ . I had the privilege of hearing Katharine speak at CFF’s ‘Mum’s the Word’ tour when it came to York a couple of years ago, and she’s GREAT. Having had four children of her own, who are now starting to leave home, Katharine is a fount of wisdom on all things parent-y. So when I learned that she’d published a book about parenting children of primary school age, my ears pricked up and my glasses were even hunted down!

I don’t like those guilt-inducing parenting books or articles that tell me WHAT to do – I prefer a gentle approach. Being busy, I get on best with books which are sub-divided into manageable chunks. I’m also relatively new to parenting a child of primary school age – Freddie started Year One last month, and all those hours I spent at ante-natal classes debating the merits of gas-and-air versus pethidine seem to bear little relevance to the experiences we’re now having (oh OK, zero relevance – although gas-and-air still seems a good move on a weary day – any bribable midwives out there?!). Katharine has produced a book that ticks all my picky boxes. She has drawn on the Old Testament book of Proverbs and the wisdom contained therein to produce a book written in chatty stories and bite-sized chapters which you can dip in and out of. It’s a comfy and life-giving read.

The book can be got for £7.50 on the Care for the Family website. But, seeing as I think it’s great, I’m going to give away a free copy to one of you lovely blog-readers!

Here’s how the giveaway works

To enter, simply comment on this post and share with me the wisest piece of advice you’ve ever been given. I’ll go first: I was once advised that before reading the the Bible, it can really help to pray the prayer of Samuel – ‘Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening’ (1 Samuel 3:9). It turned out to be great advice and has opened up the Scriptures to me time and again.

Over to you! Comment, and you will automatically be entered into the giveaway. You don’t have to be one of the Facebook likers – anyone can enter. You can comment within the actual blog below, or on the Facebook page  or on the Twitter feed.

The giveaway ends at midnight on Saturday 10th October. The winner will be chosen using a random number generator and will be announced on Sunday 11th. Just one comment per person, please!

Thank you!

THIS COMPETITION IS NOW CLOSED. CONGRATULATIONS TO JO WHO WAS THE WINNER!

With thanks to Jo Wells at Care for the Family.

10 thoughts on “‘Remember This’ – the fifty likes GIVEAWAY!

  1. My personal mantra at the mo is the old adage “reward the behaviour you want to see, ignore the behaviour you don’t”. It kind of works, sometimes!

  2. This advice was in relation to dealing with sleep but applies to lots of things…
    “Work out what you are happy with (and can cope with). Not what your Granny, mother in law or nosey neighbour thinks you ought to be happy with and go from there.” ( For me this involved working out that i was actually happy with one wake up a night and wasn’t trying to eliminate them all especially with children 2&3 – it’s a bit of quiet time just me and them.) make sense?!

  3. I try to live by the motto ‘say “yes” more times than you say “no”‘. Sometimes I’m more successful than others, and there are of course plenty of times when “no” is necessary. But, I feel much more positive when I’m answering in the affirmative in all areas of my life, including where my children are concerned.

  4. I always make sure that before my eldest goes to bed, I talk about all the good things she’s done that day. That way she goes to be feeling happy and loved 😊

  5. Oh grrrr, I was so behind on your blog last week that I totally missed this! Doh! Anyway, glad it’s gone to a worthy winner (i.e. someone more on top of things than moi) and it looks like I should add it to my to-read pile! x

Comments please!

